Final Fantasy Game PC Platform

A Quick Guide To Final Fantasy XIV

ff14 chocoboFinal Fantasy XIV: Heavensward is the first expansion to Square-Enix’s award-winning MMO, A Realm Reborn. Most of the gameplay may be familiar to older MMO veterans, especially ones who have played WoW before, but it is still different enough to warrant giving several helpful tips and tricks to both newcomers and players returning for the expansion.

It’s about the story on the way to 60

Final Fantasy XIV, even though it is an MMORPG, places a heavy focus on story, as it is a Final Fantasy game first, and MMO second in this regard. If you are below level 50, then you enjoy double experience points for main story missions, easing the grind. Whether you are new or a returning player, I strongly advise you to buy and activate Heavensward on your account before reaching level 50 or continuing where you left off, as all post-2.0 Main Story quests give 4800 EXP per piece, which will add up to a lot of EXP. By the time you reach the original ending from Patch 2.55, you’ll be around level 51, or possibly even more if you’ve been doing daily dungeon roulettes during the time you spent wrapping up the 2.X story.

Heavensward continues the story-heavy focus for your first class. I advise you to watch the cutscenes, because the story is amazing and is worthy of being in a Final Fantasy title.


At level 53 you can unlock the daily Hunts. It starts with level 1 daily hunts at 53; level 2 and 3 are unlocked at 56 and 58, respectively. These can be found in the new capital city of Ishgard, more specifically, in the Foundation, as seen on the screenshot above. The NPC called Eustacia will give the quests to unlock each level.
The first dungeon, Dusk Vigil, is unlocked at level 51, but it is not part of the main story. Level 51+ players need to start the level 51 sidequest For All the Nights to Come. This is given by Wealdtheow in Coerthas Western Highlands (x16, y22)..
Three new Jobs are found in Ishgard: Machinist (DPS), Astrologian (Healer) and Dark Knight (Tank). If you want to level one of these jobs as your first to 60, I recommend that as soon as you enter Ishgard proper, get your chosen Job, level it to 50 in the old areas, and then start the Heavensward content with it.

Level 60… now what? (Patch 3.05)

When your first class reaches level 60, you can start gearing up for the Alexander raids. To do this, you’ll need to do the following:

  • Finish the Heavensward story. Last quest will be titled “Heavensward”.
  • Buy some basic gear, or complete side-quests in Azys Lla to earn some ilvl 150 gear.
  • Minimum ilvl needed for the two Expert dungeons is 145, so you’ll need to have at least that.
  • Unlock and finish the Neverreap dungeon:
  • Unlock and finish the Fractal Continuum dungeon:
  • Unlock Alexander normal mode with its quest series starting in Idyllshire. It doesn’t matter if you don’t meet the raid’s ilvl 170 requirement, just have it unlocked by the time you’re i170.
  • Do daily roulettes and/or PVP to earn Tomestones of Law and Esoterics. Eso is capped at 450/week, which resets on Tuesdays.
  • Spend the tomestones on items : weapons are most important. Optionally, do the daily and weekly Hunts to earn marks, which can be turned in for various upgrade materials inside the Forgotten Knight, on the screenshot above. Ardolain is the NPC who sells the upgrade materials: weapon upgrades for 395, armor upgrade for 300 and accessory upgrade for 150 each. Take these items to Seika in Idyllshire along with the i170 items you wish to upgrade to 180.
  • Once you’re i170, you can do Alexander normal with Duty Finder or Party Finder / Free Company groups. These drop tokens, which can be exchanged for i190 gear. You can only take one token per week from each floor, so it is 4 tokens per week from all 4 floors in total.
  • Alexander Savage requires the best gear and best group players available, so it will take a longer time to be ready for it. Be sure to only do it with a good Free Company (guild in FFXIV).

If you are leveling a second/third battle class to 60, either dungeon farming or FATE farming is king. For dungeons, do the most recent available one with DF if you’re tank or healer; for DPS, the wait is long, and in the meantime you can do FATEs.

FATE Grinding: join groups for FATEs in the following areas:

  • Coerthas Western Highlands: levels 50-53
  • The Churning Mists: levels 53-57
  • The Dravanian Hinterlands: levels 57 to 60

Other than those, you can do the large-scale Temple Levequests (each one costs 10 Allowances but gives a LOT of XP), challenge log, daily roulettes, daily hunts and any remaining side-quests.


Written by Adam Vogl, follow him on Twitter @Hurricane1989.



  • Valleygirl

    Oohhh. Thanks for the tips! The last Final Fantasy I played was Final Fantasy XIII, so I am a little bit of practice. The graphics look very pretty as well.

  • Joop

    I also love watching the cut scenes. I really enjoy a storyline in any game I play.
    I have never played Final Fantasy as a MMO.
    Cheers for the tips Adam!

  • smith

    Looks like this game is interesting.Thank you admin for the tips.i will play this game